NEWS | May 8, 2015

Armed Forces Recognition Luncheon honors Guardmembers

By Tech. Sgt. Jecca Geffre Colorado National Guard

CENTENNIAL, Colo. – Two outstanding Colorado National Guardsmen were honored by the Aurora Chamber of Commerce at the 39th annual Armed Forces Recognition Luncheon May 8.

Eleven individuals representing the active duty military branches and each reserve-component service were recognized as the Military Persons of the Year, selected by their commanders and a panel of community leaders.

The Air National Guard winner was Tech. Sgt. Rebecca Holcomb, 140th Maintenance Group. The Army National Guard award category went to Spc. Jeremy McCombs, 1157th Engineer Detachment (Firefighters).

Their fellow nominees included Air National Guard members Tech. Sgt. Amy Espinoza, and Tech. Sgt. Joel Johnson, both from the Air Reserve Personnel Center. The Army Guard nominees were Spc. Jessica Gutenberger, 193rd Military Police Battalion, and Spc. Anthony Villafan, 157th Infantry.

The active-duty and reserve component members represent every service branch, and winners are selected honored for their service and contributions to their community.

The luncheon offers an opportunity for the entire metro community including Aurora, Centennial, and Denver, to say "thank you" to the men and women who serve their country.