NEWS | June 13, 2014

Colo. Guardsmen Named Top Military Members In State

By 2nd Lt. Cheresa D. Clark Colorado National Guard

CENTENNIAL, Colo. – Two exceptional Colorado National Guardsmen were singled out by their peers and honored by the Aurora Chamber of Commerce at the 38th annual Armed Forces Recognition Luncheon June 13.

The annual event offers an opportunity for the entire metro community including Aurora, Centennial, and Denver, to say thank you to the men and women who serve their country.

The Aurora Chamber of Commerce Armed Forces Recognition Luncheon took place June 13 and recognized a number of Colorado Guardsmen for their outstanding service.

Colorado Army National Guard Sgt. Julia Tallant, 217th Space Company; and Colorado Air National Guard Tech. Sgt. Curtis Hansen, 233rd Security Forces Squadron; were named the tope Colorado National Guard members of the year at the event.

Other nominees for this honor were: Sgt. Timothy Bjorklund, 5th Battalion, 19th Special Forces Group (Airborne); Sgt. Amanda Martinez, 220th Military Police Company; Tech. Sgt. Amy Szpak, Air Reserve Personnel Center; and Senior Airman Alexis Isaac, 140th Maintenance Squadron.

"Our military men and women are second to none. We are very appreciative of your commitment as you continue to uphold the great traditions of our free nation," said Chamber President and CEO Kevin Hougen.

In total, 11 active-duty and reserve component members from every service branch are honored for their service and contributions to their community.